TIFF16 WRAPS and the AWARDS go to…

tiff16-cancon-filmmakers 2016 Toronto International Film Festival - "La La Land" PremiereCongratulations to TIFF for another successful year and to  ALL 2016 Toronto International Film Festival Award recipients.

We would like to give a special shout out from MIC Views to our Canadian talent  representing us at home and around the world.

The Grolsch People’s Choice award went to Damien Chazelle’s contemporary musical La La Land, starring Ryan Gosling (Canadian born actor, musician, and producer – IT COUNTS!) and Emma Stone. Runners-up for the top public prize were Garth Davis’s Lion and Mira Nair’s Queen Of Katwe.

Award for Best Canadian Short Film went to Alexandre Dostie’s Mutants for his coming-of-age tale set in 1996. The award came with a $10,000 cash prize.

The Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film went to Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie for Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves (Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitié n’ont fait que se creuser un tombeau). A fictional tale of a terrorist group in Montreal. This award came with a cash prize of $30,000 and a custom award, sponsored by Canada Goose.

The City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film goes to Johnny Ma’s Old Stone (Lao shi). The cash prize of $15,000, was made possible by the City of Toronto.

Complete List of Award Winners: 

  • Grolsch’s People’s Choice Award goes to Damien Chazelle’s La La Land (US).
  • People’s Choice for Documentary was awarded to Raoul Peck’s I Am Not Your Negro (Haiti).
  • People’s Choice for the Midnight Madness awarded to Ben Wheatley’s Free Fire.
  • Best Canadian short film: Mutants, directed by Trois-Rivières, Que.’s Alexandre Dostie.
  • Best short film: Imago, directed by Raymund Ribay Gutierrez (Philippines).
  • Best Canadian first feature film: Old Stone, directed by Toronto’s Johnny Ma.
  • Best Canadian feature film: Those Who Make Revolution Halfway Only Dig Their Own Graves, directed by Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie of Quebec.
  • International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) discovery award: Kati Kati, directed by Mbithi Masya (Kenya).
  • FIPRESCI special presentations award: I Am Not Madame Bovary, directed by Feng Xiaogang (China).
  • NETPAC award: In Between, directed by Maysaloun Hamoud (Israel).
  • Discovery program filmmakers award: Jeffrey, directed by Yanillys Perez (Dominican Republic).
  • Toronto Platform Prize Jackie by director Pablo Larraín (UK).

For more details on TIFF Awards and Winners  Click Here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s